Skip to Content

2017 Industry Awards

The heroes of South Australia’s thoroughbred racing industry have been honoured at Thoroughbred Racing SA’s annual Industry Awards and Hall of Fame Inductions at the Stamford Grand on Sunday, September 3.

Hosted by’s Adam McGrath and race caller Terry McAuliffe, the event saw more than 300 guests gather to celebrate the achievements of the State’s top jockeys, horses, trainers, apprentices, owners and the media.

Jamie Kah, the new Australian record holder for most wins in a season by a female jockey, was a stand-out performer. Ms Kah took home four awards, including the industry’s most prestigious honour – the John Letts Medal – which recognises excellence in riding and outstanding achievements at all race meetings throughout the season across the State.

Ms Kah was also honoured with the Glennon-Johnson Award for South Australian Metropolitan Jockey of the Year, UBET South Australian Provincial and Country Jockey of the Year and South Australian Jockey of the Year.

Other highlights of the night included:

  • Emily Finnegan continued the female dominance in this year’s awards, taking home the UBET South Australian Metropolitan Apprentice Jockey of the Year
  • The Festival Hire SA Champion Racehorse of the Year Award went to Hey Doc, winner of the Group 1 Australian Guineas.
  • Leading trainers Leon Macdonald and Andrew Gluyas won the South Australian Metropolitan Trainer of the Year This is the second time Australian Hall of Fame trainer Leon Macdonald has won this award. Mr Macdonald has been training for more than 40 years and previously took home the award in 2002.
  • Jockey Kerrin McEvoy was also inducted into the South Australian Racing Hall of Fame. With over 1700 wins in total and 63 group 1 wins to date the Streaky Bay born Kerrin McEvoy won last year’s Melbourne Cup on Almandin, his second Melbourne Cup win having won on Brew in 2000 as a 20-year-old.
  • The horse Manihi, winner of the 1967 Newmarket Handicap, was also inducted into the South Australian Racing Hall of Fame. While an outstanding racehorse himself, Manihi is perhaps best known as the Sire of one of Australia’s champions of the turf Manikato.
  • The important role of the media in showcasing the sport of racing was recognised through two media awards – ‘Best Story’ and ‘Best Picture’. The award for Best Racing Story saw a tie between Ben Scadden and Lincoln Moore from the Adelaide Advertiser, while Best Racing Picture went to Jenny Barnes.

“The Industry Awards and Hall of Fame induction provides an opportunity to publicly acknowledge the accomplishments of some of South Australia’s racing greats, as well as its future stars,” Thoroughbred Racing SA Chief Executive Jim Watters said.

“It’s a chance to reflect on the past season and celebrate the highlights, the people and the horses that make racing the incredible sport that it is.

“Further, South Australia has been blessed with some outstanding horses and participants over the years, and the Hall of Fame allows us to recognise their place in our racing history.”

Click here to view all the winners from the event