Skip to Content

2015 Industry Awards

2015 Thoroughbred Racing Industry Awards and Hall of Fame Dinner

Jockey Clare Lindop has celebrated a magnificent 2014/15 season by taking home three of the most coveted awards at Thoroughbred Racing SA’s Industry Awards night on Saturday.

Clare won the prestigious John Letts Medal, was named the UBET South Australian Jockey of the Year and also received the Glennon-Johnson Award for the 2014/15 South Australian Metropolitan Jockey of the Year in a ceremony held at the Stamford Grand, Glenelg.

It caps off an impressive year for one of Australia’s champion jockeys, with her metropolitan figures reading 55 wins, 32.5 second placings and 28 thirds from 303 starts.

Clare was one of 16 award winners on the night, which recognises the achievements of the State’s top jockeys, apprentices, trainers and horses – with prizes awarded to the industry’s finest performers, both past and present.

The Festival Hire 2014/15 South Australian Champion Racehorse of the Year was taken out by star galloper Hucklebuck, winner of the Emirates Stakes at Flemington last November.

The Caitlin Forrest South Australian Provincial and Country Apprentice of the Year award was given to Irish-born up-and-coming jockey Emily Finnegan and presented by Caitlin’s mother, Yvonne Forrest, in a moving tribute to her late daughter.

Other highlights of the evening included:

  • Jake Toeroek took home two awards – the TAFE SA Metropolitan Apprentice of the Year and the Leon Macdonald Award for South Australian Apprentice of the Year. Matthew Neilson won the equivalent accolade for country racing, while Steven Pateman was again recognised as the Jumps Jockey of the Year.
  • Phillip Stokes was another multiple award winner on the night, taking home The Advertiser South Australian Metropolitan Trainer of the Year and the CS Hayes Award for 2014/15 South Australian Trainer of the Year.
  • David Jolly’s strong 2014/15 season saw him named the UBET South Australian Provincial and Country Trainer of the Year.
  • Two inductions were made into the SA Hall of Fame, with champion horse Storm Queen and legendary trainer Ab Macdonald both receiving the honour.

Thoroughbred Racing SA Chief Executive Officer Jim Watters said Clare Lindop was a worthy winner of the John Letts Medal, which recognises excellence in riding and outstanding achievements at all race meetings throughout the State.

“Clare is one of Australia’s leading jockeys and her 2014-15 season was fantastic to watch. She’s at the peak of a career which has taken her around the world and we’re so glad she continues to call South Australia home,” Mr Watters said.

“The awards night provides us with an opportunity to recognise the people, the horses and the moments that make racing the unique sport it is.”

Click here for a full list of winners

Click here to view a gallery of photo from the night